Working With Multiple Developer In A Single GIT Repository

Working With Multiple Developer In A Single GIT Repository

Generally, when we work with a project or repository in a team, then the project management becomes a bit complicated – especially working with multiple developers at the same time. The method used by Git to solve this problem is remarkable. Many developers will be able to work in the same repo without losing any work or code. Without further ado, let’s see how multiple developers can work in the same repository.


At first we have to create a remote repository that will be used as a central repository. If you use a free Github (a Git repository server), then anyone can get read access to your repository unless you use their paid account. But using Bitbucket, if you do not make the repo public, nobody will be able to see it. If you want, you can allow other developer read, write or admin access to your private repository. For now, let’s say we are using Bitbucket.
Fork: Developers who work in the same repository will have to be fork the central or main repository. Fork is meant to create a unique repository like the original repository in the developer’s account. After the fork, the developer will create a repository, which is solely his own. It will not have any relation with the original repository. Later we would be able to connect with the original repository. Forging a repository is very easy Enter the central repository – click the Fork button – fill out the required information and submit to the developer now owns the own repository. Now the developer can work with any new feature in its own repository. Any kind of editing can be done. There is a chance to compare your work with the original repository. If you want, you can see what you add with the original repository. To compare the click on compare button on its repository page.
Pull Request: To include your work in the original repository, a Pull Request will be sent to the original repository. This will send a message to the admin of the original repository. Admin can accept or cancel the developer’s work. The developer will simply receive a message saying that his work has been canceled or accepted. To send a Pull request, click on the “Pull Request” button on the developer’s repository page. Now admin will get a new Pull Request in its original repository. After observing the work, if they want to accept it then they will merge it with the original repository.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *